The Art of Letting Go


Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official position of Boiling Waters PH.

We all know how it feels to be madly deeply in love with someone. When everything feels right and everything feels light, our heart is filled with too much happiness. We smile often, we laugh hard and we always wish it to never end. But at some certain point some things will not go the way we expect it to be. We get hurt, we cry and we ask ourselves, why? We even sometimes blame ourselves for having that feeling that we are not enough, we have not done enough when all we thought we were. We felt pain, we felt down, but I guess that’s love. We fall, we love, we break but we heal.

I guess that’s the beauty of it all. When we go through the process of it all, in the end we will be okay. We undergo the stages of grief and as we experience each stage, we learn to cope. Some experience all the stages but sometimes we can skip some. The important thing is that we reach the end point which is acceptance. We learn to cope and that’s what we need to do.

Stage 1-Denial

While you are busy reading this article, try mo rin makinig sa episode namin:

Initially we ask, maybe it’s not true. Maybe it’s just temporary. We will get back tonight, tomorrow or in a few days. But minutes, hours, days and weeks became ordinary. There was no more you and him. But still you couldn’t take it.

But what I learned is that feelings can change and feelings are temporary. It will all just go away, I promise.

We might not always understand why hard things happen but we can rest in the knowledge that God is working out His purposes for a greater good. In every circumstance we can trust in the wisdom of our faithful and loving God.

Stage 2-Anger

When it starts to sink in, we start to feel mad. Mad at him, mad at the situation and even mad at ourselves for not doing enough. Allow yourself to feel it but never let it consume you. Revenge is never a good option unless you revenge in silence. Revenge in silence by doing nothing but to pray for a forgiving and peaceful heart. 

God offers indescribable heart guarding peace when we present our difficulties to Him in prayer. 

Stage 3-Bargaining

You wish. You wish to get back. You wish him back. Sometimes you even beg. When all your prayers would include “Lord please sana bumalik sya, kami nalang ulit” pero walang ganon. It’s okay to feel this way and sometimes when it doesn’t happen, we feel alone.

” Never will I leave you, never will I foresake you” Hebrews 13:5

Remember God is with us always. We are never alone.

Stage 4-Depression

This is the time when you start to realize that there can no longer be you and him. But the good thing is that you already realize what is happening at present and you recognize the reality of it all. Yes, depression and sadness may take awhile but it is a part of healing.

Weeping may stay for the night but rejoicing comes in the morning.” Psalm 30:5

Cry tonight and the next day, wake up and shine the brightest. Always believe that there is hope for love and happiness.

Stage 5- Acceptance

Finally then we begin to live with the fact that what’s gone is gone and what’s done is done. Our past doesn’t determine our future. We make mistake, we learn and we accept. We need not to force what God has destined to take from us because His plan is greater.

Brokeness can lead to wholeness. We need to experience pain to know healing. we need to feel how it is to be broken to be whole again. But never ever lose faith in love. Instead,  let us dedicate our love to God and let Him write our own love story. His “Love always protects, always trusts, always  hopes and always perseveres. Love never fails.” 1 Corinthians 13:7-8 Trust in Him, trust the process and the right time and the right love will come just exactly how He has planned.

Let Go and Let God.

Healing may take time but it will happen. Love will come, just wait. And if that day comes, finally we can say, WAGI. <3

Send me the best BW Tampal!

* indicates required